The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Idea Extraction question

Idea threads

juicemania

New Contributor
FASTLANE INSIDER
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
84%
Dec 29, 2014
Indiana
So I've just began cold emailing and cold calling a number of people within the industry I've chosen. I'm using a couple different email templates during my cold email process. One that basically says I'm a student doing some research on the particular industry, and the other which says I'm a software developer. I get a much higher response rate (%5-%10) when using the student approach as opposed to saying im a software developer (~1%). Makes sense, most people would wanna help out a student.

My only issue is that I'm not a student and haven't been for about 4 years. Most of what I've read about cold emailing during the IE phase says to use the student approach. This isn't a problem most of the time because people normally don't ask anything about you being a student. But once in a while they do and they want to know what courses your taking, major/minor etc. Has anybody ran into this situation? How'd you handle it?

I've since been using the developer (the truth) approach. Now, I just go straight to cold calling, even though it sucks lol, i've been getting a better response when I just cold call right off the bat.

Dislike ads? Remove them and support the forum: Subscribe to Fastlane Insiders.

Basilius

Contributor
Read Fastlane!
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
95%
Feb 26, 2015